We would like to thank you very much for your high interest in the big IWA conference we are organizing. You can download the final agenda from here. The welcome cocktail will take place on 14th September. The Gala Dinner will take place on 15th September. A technical tour will take place on 17th September. A visit to Acropolis Museum has been organized for the afternoon of 17th September (with extra cost), while different alternatives for excursions (with extra cost) will be available on 17th & 18th September.

Gala dinner

The Gala dinner will take place at Saint George Lycabettus hotel (Le Grand Balcon) which offers a magnificent view of the city of Athens. The Gala Dinner starts at 20:30 on Thursday 15th September 2016. The Saint George Lycabettus is a 5 star boutique hotel located in the centre of Athens. It is nestled against the pine-forested slopes of Lycabettus Hill and offers its guest a breath-taking panoramic views over Athens to the Acropolis and the Saronic Gulf. Instructions on how to reach Saint George Lycabettus hotel are given in the invitation which the Conference delegates receive in the Conference bag.

*All the available positions for the Gala Dinner have already been booked. The participation in the Gala Dinner is not possible for those registered after the 4th of September.

Paper Submissions

Both oral and poster presenters are invited to submit a paper with maximum length of 10 pages. Below is the template to be followed for the full paper. Please send the full paper to the Conference email: swws2016@central.ntua.gr

Download the template

Selected papers from the Conference Proceedings will be published in:

Important deadlines

10 October 2015 First call for papers
20 November 2015 Second call for papers
9 February 2016 Extended Deadline for submission of abstracts
30 March 2016 Notification of abstract acceptance
30 June 2016 Early bird registration ends
6 September 2016 Extended Deadline for submission of papers
29 August 2016 Extended Deadline for authors to register

Keynote Speakers

Professor George Tchobanoglous

University of California, Davis, USA 

Professor Grietje Zeeman

Wageningen University, Netherlands

Professor David Butler

University of Exeter, UK

Prof. Hallvard Ødegaard

Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Plenary Speakers

Professor Zifu Li

University of Science and Technology Beijing, China

Dr Fabio Masi


Professor Francesco Fatone

University of Verona